By Cort Reynolds

Ada Herald writer

DELPHOS - Ada senior Kellen Decker was named Northwest Conference Back Of the Year to pace seven Bulldogs on the all-league first team in voting recently conducted by the league coaches.

Decker rushed for 1,565 regular season yards and 20 touchdowns to help lead the Bulldogs (10-1, 7-1 NWC) to a second-place finish. This fall, Decker set Ada's career and single-game rushing records and became the school's all-time scoring leader.

The elusive 5-11, 185-pounder dominated so clearly that he was the only

player nominated for this year's Back of the Year award. It was his third selection as an all-league back.

Versatile Ada senior Jacob Ansley was voted first team all-conference as a receiver and at linebacker, one of only three players to achieve that

impressive honor.

Bulldog quarterback Mason Acheson earned first team notice to continue the Ada tradition of excellence at signal-caller. In just his first season as a starter, he threw for over 2,500 yards and for 28 touchdowns.

Speedy senior Micah Roberson led the Bulldogs in receptions and was also

voted first team all-league at receiver as Ada held both wideout


Senior lineman Brent Numbers was the fifth Bulldog named first team

offense. His blocking helped the Bulldog offense average 39.2 points per


On the defensive side of the ball, senior end Eli Roberson and junior

lineman Saed Al-olimat both made the first team along with two-way

standout Ansley.

Sure-handed junior Matt Wilcox made second team all-league at tight end

and at defensive back. Micah Roberson also was named second team

all-league in the secondary.

Ada sophomore Noah Beach was named honorable mention all-conference on the offensive line. Sophomore Lane Nitchie made honorable mention on the

defensive line, and freshman Blake Ansley was voted honorable mention at


Jerry Cooper of league champion LCC (10-0, 8-0 NWC) was named Coach of the Year. Spencerville took third (8-2, 6-2 NWC) as 260-pound senior two-way standout Coleman McCormick won Lineman of the Year honors.